Associates & Staff

Dr. Michael Waldstein

Dr. Michael Waldstein, Distinguished Fellow of The St. Paul Center for Biblical Theology, is the Max Seckler professor of theology. He previously taught at the University of Notre Dame before serving as the founding president of the International Theological Institute in Gaming, Austria, where he also held the position of St. Francis of Assisi Professor of New Testament.

He served as a member of the Pontifical Council for the Family (2003-3009) and is a member of the the Board of Trustees of the University of Eichstaett, Germany. He holds a B.A. from Thomas Aquinas College, a Ph.D. from the University of Dallas, an S.S.L. from the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome, and a Th.D. from Harvard University in New Testament and Christian Origins. His published works include a critical edition of the four Coptic manuscripts (with English translation) of the Secret Book of John, a Gnostic text discovered in the Nag Hammadi codices, and a new translation of John Paul II’s Man and Woman He Created Them: A Theology of the Body as well as numerous articles on the Gospel of John, Gnosticism, St. Thomas Aquinas, John Paul II and Hans Urs von Balthasar in such journals asNova et Vetera, Communio, Anthropotes, and Journal of Early Christian Studies.


• 1990, Th.D. in New Testament and Christian Origins, Harvard Divinity School. Dissertation: “The Mission of Jesus in John: Probes into the Apocryphon of John and the Gospel of John.” Director: Helmut Koester.

• 1984, S.S.L. (summa cum laude), Pontifical Biblical Institute, Rome.

• 1981, Ph.D. in Philosophy, University of Dallas. Dissertation: “Expression and Form: Principles of a Philosophical Aesthetics according to Hans Urs von Balthasar.” Director: Mark Jordan.

• 1977, B.A., Thomas Aquinas College, California. Senior essay: “‘Epiphany’ according to Hans Urs von Balthasar.”


• Native: German.

• Fluent: English, Italian.

• Reading: Latin, Greek, Hebrew, Aramaic, Coptic, French, Spanish.


• 2006 - present, Senior Professor and Professor of New Testament, International Theological Institute, Gaming, Austria

• 1996–2006, President and Professor of New Testament, International Theological Institute, Gaming, Austria

• 1996, Promoted to Associate Professor of New Testament, Program of Liberal Studies, University of Notre Dame.

• 1990–1996, Assistant Professor of New Testament, Program of Liberal Studies, University of Notre Dame.

• 1993–1994 Research Fellow, Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät, University of Tübingen.

• 1988–1990, Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Program of Liberal Studies, University of Notre Dame.

• 1984–1988, Tutor in Religion, Adams House, Harvard University.

• 1987, Teaching Assistant to Prof. Kurt Rudolph, Harvard Divinity School.

• 1986–1987, Instructor in Church History, Harvard Divinity School.

• 1981–1984, Lecturer in Theology, Latin and Greek, University of Dallas Rome Campus.


• Pontifical Council for the Family, Member, since 2003.

• Society of Biblical Literature, Member, 1985-.


• Austrian and American citizen by birth.

• Married 1978 to Susan Burnham. Eight children.

Associates & Staff

Dr. Scott Hahn
Founder and President and Chairman of the Board
Archbishop Charles J. Chaput, O.F.M. Cap.
Episcopal Advisor
Senior Fellows Father Thomas Acklin, O.S.B Dr. Joseph C. Atkinson Dr. Christopher Baglow Dr. William Bales Dr. Michael Barber Father Robert Barron Dr. John Bergsma Dr. Richard Bulzacchelli Dr. Matthew Bunson Dr. Aaron Canty Dr. Sebastian Carnazzo Father John S. Custer Dr. Marcellino D'Ambrosio Dr. Vincent DeMeo Father Jeremy Driscoll, O.S.B. Dr. David Fagerberg Dr. Lawrence Feingold Father Pablo Gadenz Father Michael Giesler Dr. Gregory Yuri Glazov Dr. Timothy Gray Dr. Mary Healy Dr. Stephen Hildebrand Dr. Jeremy Holmes Dr. Kenneth Howell Dr. Leroy Huizenga Dr. Andrew Jones Dr. Daniel A. Keating Father William Kurz, S.J. Father Thomas Lane Dr. Taylor Marshall Dr. Timothy Milinovich Dr. Robert P. Miller Dr. Jeffrey Morrow Dr. Ian Murphy Monsignor A. Robert Nusca Father Mitch Pacwa, S.J. Dr. James L. Papandrea Dr. Brant Pitre Fr. Jospeh Poggemeyer Dr. Thomas Scheck Dr. Nathanael E. Schmiedicke Dr. James Shelton Dr. Daniel G. Van Slyke Dr. Steven C. Smith Dr. Edward Sri Dr. Robert Stackpole, STD Father Kris Stubna Dr. Andrew Swafford Dr. Michel Therrien Dr. Andre Villeneuve Dr. Benjamin Wiker Dr. Peter Williamson Dr. Carol Younger