Associates & Staff

Dr. Richard Bulzacchelli

Richard H. Bulzacchelli, S.T.D. is Associate Professor of Theology at Aquinas College, in Nashville, Tennessee.  Bulzacchelli took his B.A. in philosophy at Saint Vincent College, in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, before moving on to an M.A. in Christian philosophy at Marquette University, and an M.A. in religious studies at Providence College. 

He then continued his academic formation with the S.T.L. in systematic theology, which he received from the Pontifical Faculty of the Immaculate Conception (the Dominican House of Studies) in Washington, DC.  His S.T.L. dissertation was later revised and published, under the title, Judged by the Law of Freedom: A History of the Faith-Works Controversy, and a Resolution in the Thought of St. Thomas Aquinas. 

Bulzacchelli completed his training at the International Marian Research Institute in Dayton, Ohio (an ecclesiastical institute associated with the Pontifical Theological Faculty Marianum in Rome, Italy), taking the S.T.D. with a specialization in Mariology and concentrations in theological anthropology and the thought of Karol Wojtyla/Pope John Paul II. 

Dr. Bulzacchelli is a popular classroom teacher and public speaker, and presents regularly at academic conferences.  He is published on a range of topics and personalities in theology and philosophy, including medical ethics, the Virgin Mary, St. Thomas Aquinas, Bl. Duns Scotus, Pope Benedict XVI, Pope Bl. John Paul II, and Pope Paul VI.

Links to Richard H. Bulzacchelli’s books:

Judged by the Law of Freedom: A History of the Faith-Works Controversy, and a Resolution in the Thought of St. Thomas Aquinas (Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 2006).

“Elohim Created”: A New Look at the First Creation Narrative (Nashville, TN: The Aggiornamento Project, 2012).


Associates & Staff

Dr. Scott Hahn
Founder and President and Chairman of the Board
Archbishop Charles J. Chaput, O.F.M. Cap.
Episcopal Advisor
Senior Fellows Father Thomas Acklin, O.S.B Dr. Joseph C. Atkinson Dr. Christopher Baglow Dr. William Bales Dr. Michael Barber Father Robert Barron Dr. John Bergsma Dr. Richard Bulzacchelli Dr. Matthew Bunson Dr. Aaron Canty Dr. Sebastian Carnazzo Father John S. Custer Dr. Marcellino D'Ambrosio Dr. Vincent DeMeo Father Jeremy Driscoll, O.S.B. Dr. David Fagerberg Dr. Lawrence Feingold Father Pablo Gadenz Father Michael Giesler Dr. Gregory Yuri Glazov Dr. Timothy Gray Dr. Mary Healy Dr. Stephen Hildebrand Dr. Jeremy Holmes Dr. Kenneth Howell Dr. Leroy Huizenga Dr. Andrew Jones Dr. Daniel A. Keating Father William Kurz, S.J. Father Thomas Lane Dr. Taylor Marshall Dr. Timothy Milinovich Dr. Robert P. Miller Dr. Jeffrey Morrow Dr. Ian Murphy Monsignor A. Robert Nusca Father Mitch Pacwa, S.J. Dr. James L. Papandrea Dr. Brant Pitre Fr. Jospeh Poggemeyer Dr. Thomas Scheck Dr. Nathanael E. Schmiedicke Dr. James Shelton Dr. Daniel G. Van Slyke Dr. Steven C. Smith Dr. Edward Sri Dr. Robert Stackpole, STD Father Kris Stubna Dr. Andrew Swafford Dr. Michel Therrien Dr. Andre Villeneuve Dr. Benjamin Wiker Dr. Peter Williamson Dr. Carol Younger